Planning for the Future; not Scrambling for the Past

I’ve always thought of myself as a “bad” preservationist because I believe that the places that we preserve need to have meaning and purpose to the present and future generations. I’m glad I’m not the only dissenting voice.

Time Tells

I was re-reading one of my blogs from nine years ago (430 posts now – I guess I am about consistency and endurance whether I like it or not) and was struck (again) by my (consistent) non-ideological approach to heritage conservation. That blog “Heresy and Apostasy” basically took to task the concept that preservation had some kind of ideological purity and that those who didn’t try to save absolutely everything all the time were not “true” preservationists.

just say NO!3s

I recalled my youth in the field, when I did come close to that position, but it was never one I was completely comfortable with. First, ideologies sit outside of history and thus fail all tests of time. Second and more to the point, I began my career working on a heritage area – the first in the U.S. – and the goals there were historic preservation, natural area preservation, recreation, and economic…

View original post 869 more words

Leave a Reply

